home General, News, Sports IPL 2020 schedule announced; Mumbai Indians take on Chennai Super Kings in the first match

IPL 2020 schedule announced; Mumbai Indians take on Chennai Super Kings in the first match

  • The defending champions Mumbai Indians will take on Chennai Super Kings in the first match of IPL 2020 on September 19.

The much-awaited schedule of the Indian Premier League 2020 has been announced after much deliberation on the future of the tournament. The IPL was started on 29 March this year. 

However, due to the coronavirus pandemic, the tournament was postponed and will now start from the United Arab Emirates (UAE) from 19 September. The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced the IPL 2020 full schedule on Sunday.

The IPL 2020 is on track, with the schedule scheduled to be released last week. However, the BCCI suffered a major setback last week when the Chennai Super Kings (CSK) franchise, which had a total of 13 members, tested positive for COVID-19. This delayed the schedule announcement and finally, the BCCI has come up with the full schedule of IPL 2020.

The IPL Governing Council on Sunday announced the Dream 11 Indian Premier League 2020 schedule to be held in the UAE. The season will begin on 19 September in Abu Dhabi with a blockbuster clash between defending champions Mumbai Indians and Chennai Super Kings.

Here is the full schedule of IPL 2020

Following the tournament opener on Saturday, Dubai will host its first game on Sunday, when there will be the third match on Monday between Sunrisers Hyderabad and Royal Challengers Bangalore.

The IPL auction will be shifted to Sharjah on Tuesday 22 September, where the Rajasthan Royals will host the Chennai Super Kings.

The first match with a time of 3:30 PM IST and 2:00 PM UAE. All evening matches will start at 7:30 PM IST and 6:00 PM UAE. In all, 24 matches will be held in Dubai, 20 in Abu Dhabi, and 12 in Sharjah.