home Sports BCCI nominates Rohit Sharma for Khel Ratna award.

BCCI nominates Rohit Sharma for Khel Ratna award.

BCCI nominates Rohit Sharma for Khel Ratna award

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has nominated the Indian vice-captain Rohit Sharma for the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award 2020. The board has also nominated Ishant Sharma, ShikharDhawan and Deepti Sharma for the Arjuna Award. The government of India’s Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports has also sought invitations to the awards for the period between 1st January 2016 to 31st December 2019.

The Team’s vice captainRohit Sharma is known to be a versatile run-getter. He was named the ICC ODI Cricketer of the year for 2019. Rohit Sharma is synonymous to ‘stylish opener’ and was the first player in the history of the game to score five ODI centuries in a single edition of the World Cup. Besides this, he is also the first batsman to score four T20I centuries. To top it all, he is also the first player to have twin centuries in his first appearance as a Test opener.

Sourav Ganguly, the BCCI president commented on the nominations, “We went through a lot of data and considered various parameters before shortlisting the nominees. Rohit Sharma has set new benchmarks as a batsman and achieved scores people thought were not possible in the shorter formats of the game. We feel he is worthy of getting the prestigious Khel Ratna award for his commitment, conduct, consistency and his leadership skills.”

Shikhar Dhawan on the other hand is the next nominated person for the award. He holds the record for the fastest Test century on debut and is perhaps the only batsman in the world to have won two golden bats consecutively in the ICC Champions Trophy. Further, he is the quickest batsman to reach 2000 and 3000 runs in ODIs and is the second fastest Indian player to score 4000 and 5000 ODIs.

The youngest of the lot is Ishant Sharma, who holds the record for most wickets by an Indian pacer pacer outside India.

Deepti Sharma holds the credit for highest individual ODI score by an Indian player and is the only Indian spinner to take 6 ODI wickets.